Jambo! Three seats for you - Reisverslag uit Dar es Salaam, Tanzania van Clara Zijlstra - WaarBenJij.nu Jambo! Three seats for you - Reisverslag uit Dar es Salaam, Tanzania van Clara Zijlstra - WaarBenJij.nu

Jambo! Three seats for you

Door: Clara Zijlstra

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Clara

08 November 2014 | Tanzania, Dar es Salaam

Well that went better than expected. The first 24 hours of the trip were uneventfull, even pleasant. Half empty planes make for excellent sleeping compartements, and with three seats, blankets and pillows, that's exactly what I did.

I was greeted by heavy rainfall and smiling people upon arriving in Dar es Salaam, which means Haven of Peace. The hotel driver picket me up, and we started chatting about Haarlem and the Heineken Museum, he had lived in the Netherlands for a month some time ago and had visited the most important landmarks, like Madam Touseauds and a beer brewery.

If I had simply closed my eyes I would have thought that I was in India, the same warm moistness in the air and that mix of spices and diesel that give the surroundings a remarkable smell. Traffic is less crazy though.

Another pleasant surprise awaited me at the hotel, my room is huge, staff is nice, internet is free and working perfectly, and I had a nice shower. After a quick power nap (I was awoken by the prayers from the Muezzin of a nearby Mosque) it was time for a late lunch/early dinner at the hotel restaurant.

The restaurant has the most peculiar decorating, with on either end of the room a huge arrangement of fake orange and golden flowers, Chinese curtains with farm life depictions and a Romanesque mosaic bar. The restaurant does not serve typical Tanzanian cuisine, so I made do and ordered a chicken burger.

Tomorrow I will fly to Mwanza in the early morning and meet dr. Chirangi. Keep you all updated

Don't want to read? No worries, here is a video of my day
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eABqjZDG8uI

  • 09 November 2014 - 18:45

    Thea Klostra:

    hoi clara.
    ik heb je reisverslag gelezen, heel erg fijn dat het je goed gaat en alles naar wens gaat, thea.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Clara

Al sinds ik klein was ben ik door mijn ouders verwend met verre reizen. Nu heb ik het reisvirus flink te pakken.

Actief sinds 19 Mei 2011
Verslag gelezen: 307
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11170

Voorgaande reizen:

07 November 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

Clinical elective at Shirati Hospital, Tanzania

Landen bezocht: