Let the 48 hour journey begin - Reisverslag uit Brussel, België van Clara Zijlstra - WaarBenJij.nu Let the 48 hour journey begin - Reisverslag uit Brussel, België van Clara Zijlstra - WaarBenJij.nu

Let the 48 hour journey begin

Door: Clara Zijlstra

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Clara

06 November 2014 | België, Brussel

This will be the first journey in which I have packed the maximum amount of kilograms allowed, in a single suitcase. In this case a 23kg heavy red duffel bag.

To the untrained eye, my bag must look like it belongs to a germaphobe with a sweet tooth. My bag is literally filled with one liter of hand sanitizer and several bags of pepernoten, haribo gummy bears and stroopwafels. All packed to acquaintance the Tanzanian community with Dutch delights.

For those who don't know: I'm traveling to Shirati, Tanzania to embark on a 12 week clinical elective. Shirati is a small town in the north of Tanzania, and it will take me approximately 48 hours to reach this remote part of the world. It all depends on how good my Swahili skills are in hailing a bus to Shirati Town. (Mabasi ni wapi?). I'll first be flying from Brussel to Doha, then from Doha to Dar es Salaam and then from Dar es Salaam to Mwanza. From there on out it's a bus ride to Shirati Hospital and to my host family, the Chacha family.

But I first had to say goodbye to the Netherlands in a suiting fashion: with wortelenstampot and worstjes

I'll keep you all updated
Love
Clara

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Clara

Al sinds ik klein was ben ik door mijn ouders verwend met verre reizen. Nu heb ik het reisvirus flink te pakken.

Actief sinds 19 Mei 2011
Verslag gelezen: 331
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11183

Voorgaande reizen:

07 November 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

Clinical elective at Shirati Hospital, Tanzania

Landen bezocht: