Pizzas, Zebras and Impalas - Reisverslag uit Shirati, Tanzania van Clara Zijlstra - WaarBenJij.nu Pizzas, Zebras and Impalas - Reisverslag uit Shirati, Tanzania van Clara Zijlstra - WaarBenJij.nu

Pizzas, Zebras and Impalas

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Clara

09 November 2014 | Tanzania, Shirati

I should have known that my lucky streak can never last that long. Today I awoke at 3 o’ clock in the morning to be brought to Dar es Salaam Airport again. Upon my arrival at the airport, at 4:30 in the morning, after completing security (in front and behind the incheck counters) I was told that my 6:00 o’clock flight had been cancelled. The next would leave tomorrow.


Luckily there was another way, around the same time, with another airline, but that joke would cost me 260 dollars. I could get a refund for my previous flight; I just had to fill out the refund forms upon arrival in Mwanza. In Mwanza I came to the conclusion that those refund forms did not exist.

 
But after that the sun shone brightly on me again, Dr Chirangi picked me up from the airport. He was in town for some meetings and delivered me to his hotel, a few hours later, we hit the road in search of banks that accept either Maestro or Mastercard. The first ATM was out of money, the second only accepted VISA, the third was under construction, the forth only accepted my credit card for a meager amount of Shillings (and >10% fee) and the fifth did nothing at all. Far cash poorer than expected I went on my way to Shirati, a town known for it’s beautiful hills and lack of ATM machines. Dr. Chirangi bought me pizza for lunch to eat in the car, to sweeten the deal.

 
The ride was absolutely breath taking, the road went along side a part of the Serengeti and I saw my first share of zebras, baboons, wildebeest and impalas. Heavy rains in the distance gave the hills a multi coloured hue that would inspire me to paint, were it not for the fact that I can’t draw for the life of me. At the end of the ride those distant thunderstorms weren’t so distant any more, and the roads turned into slippery slopes of red clay.


At 6:00 pm  we arrived at Fred Chachas home, a beautiful sunflower yellow house in a nice green garden. I was warmly invited to join a pancake dinner. Renée and Brian are guests at Freds as well, an American couple. She teaches, he fixes everything and he made sure that my bedroom would have a lock. “The good news is; there is only one key, the bad news is; there is only one key”. Dr. Inge from the Netherlands and het little daughter Daphne were also there for a while. Carmen from Austria and Yvonne from Groningen are the other two interns at the hospital. The evening was amazing, and I am totally looking forward for tomorrow, maternity ward here I come.


Filled with pancakes and avocado salad I went to my room. It’s HUGE! I have my own bathroom! I have one wall that’s an entire closet! Somebody pinch me, I think I’m dreaming

  • 13 November 2014 - 22:26

    Eva:

    Wat een spannende verhalen! Je schrijft echt ontzettend leuk Clara. Als je ooit genoeg hebt van dokter zijn, kun je nog altijd een literaire carrière beginnen. :)

  • 25 Mei 2015 - 16:40

    Barry:

    Heeey!

    Sorry for being rude, maar ik ga mijn master thesis doen in Shirati en werd nieuwsgierig na het vinden van je blogs via google. Ziet er naar uit dat je een super tijd hebt gehad! Een vraag: ik heb op verschillende blogs veel positiefs gelezen over Fred Chacha's House. Heb je misschien meer informatie voor mij over dit verblijf? Zoals onder andere kosten, faciliteiten, evt contactnummer, etc..?

    En heb je misschien nog andere tips aangezien over Shirati weinig info beschikbaar is?

    Groetjes, Barry
    barrybos@live.nl

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Clara

Al sinds ik klein was ben ik door mijn ouders verwend met verre reizen. Nu heb ik het reisvirus flink te pakken.

Actief sinds 19 Mei 2011
Verslag gelezen: 325
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11152

Voorgaande reizen:

07 November 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

Clinical elective at Shirati Hospital, Tanzania

Landen bezocht: